Thinking of a trade, would like a few opinions.

I've got an 08 YZF250 wich I am very happy with. I do on occasion wish it had more power to help me recover from a mistake. I am talking to a guy about a trade for an 07 YZ250 smoker. It has a 10oz. FWW, throttle cam, and a Q silencer to help smooth things out.

I haven't ridden a 250t for 7 or 8 years. I hadn't been riding before that for at least that long. I was out of shape, and that bike kicked by butt a few times.

Fast forward about 8 years... I started riding again a few years ago, mostly MX with my son. I am getting ready to start racing 30+ beginner at my local track, wich by the way is mostly hard pack. (very hard pack) So I am comfortable riding again, just some days I miss the old smokers. Simple, cheap and fun.

Anyone with any experience changing? Is the smoker going to be more tiring? I will ride his bike before we trade if it happens. I just don't want to jump the gun then regret my decision. :busted: I've done things like that a time or twenty. Thanks.

The 2 stroke is faster but harder to ride. Your 4 stroke is really a sweet bike. You can easily make it faster with a big bore kit.

I have both and like both bikes but you can't get sloppy with the 2 stroke.

you can put the 290 kit on it but then you would have to race open class which would put you up against 450's and then your still going to be at a disadvantage. it really just depends on the type of racing you do. if you race mostly outdoor, long wide open tracks i would go for the smoker. but if your like me and race tight arenacross style tracks i would go with the 250f. either way their both nice bikes. good luck!

Get the smoker. the big bore kit isnt worth it...its what 40 more cc's? the 250 will always be faster, more reliable, less expensive, and a bigger "fun factor" :busted:

The 2 stroke is faster but harder to ride............but you can't get sloppy with the 2 stroke.