California City question

I have a 1977 Yamaha 400 which I just rebuilt and got registered. I'm new to the world of riding bikes legally, so I have two questions.

1) Is California City accepting red sticker bikes right now?

2) I have a open muffler, much like a glasspack on a car. It is not a spark arrestor. Do they care, and if they do, what are the chances of me getting by inspection with it?

Thanks!

Chris

I just saw the sticky for the green/red sticker. Not sure what area California City is (newb to that area) but it looks like red stickers are allowed everywhere. :moon::busted:

Red stickers are ok. You will need to purchase their new ohv permit. They are $8 per Bike. You can go to the following web site for details.

http://www.californiacity-ca.us/

It's red sticker season everywhere in CA right now. And your pipe is illegal, and chances are higher in this area of getting inspected by a ranger, especially during the holidays.

Cal city is the exception. It is "city owned" land and they openly welcome red and green sticker riders all year round. Be sure to support the local business there. You probably won't find another city that welcomes and supports offroaders more than they do.

You MUST have a spark arrestor to ride in Cal City as well as anywhere in California. You will not pass any inspection on public lands and probably won't be able to talk yourself out of a ticket on that issue. Everyone is very serious about that.

Thank you so much guys. I guess I will be out searching for a spark arrester type muffler tomorrow. Is there such thing as a somewhat universal muffler that I could have u-clamped (temporarily, running out of time) or welded on?

Secondly, on the website posted above I saw a $8 permit required for DIRT. Can I buy that permit at California City or is it by mail only?