250x better skid plate?

Flatland Racing. Here is their skid plate and radiator braces

n212401708_31309409_1381.jpg

n212402319_31277319_7504.jpg

The Hyde plate is what I run. It is quieter than aluminum and easy to take off for oil changes (even with the hole changing the oil and filter is messy, IMO). The one you listed is better than nothing, but a waste of cash unless you add better guards if you ride in rocks. I used one of those WC plates with the stock guards and busted my engine side cover. I believe WC makes a full coverage plate too but it is pricey. http://www.hyderacing.com/store/dirtbike/honda/crf_250.htm

I've been running the WC plate like in your photo for a couple of years now with no problems.

+1 on the Hyde Skid Plate. Like its lightness and ease of removal.

Flatland is a great company, and their aluminum plate is definitely good value and should take care of most riders. After ~100 hours mine was pretty well toast, and not worth welding. My CRF was lowered 2", which certainly didn't help.

If you ride in brutal rocks, the $185 works connection heavy duty plate is the best I've seen.

Pete

I've use the DeVol aluminum plate for 4 years and it does a decent job of protecting the engine cases and side covers, but is a bit of a pain going on. It has welded-on wings similiar to the Flatland one pictured above, so you can ditch the stock plastic pieces. Cost is in the $80-$90 range.

The pic you posted is a "glide" plate...generally considered adequate for MX. There are many skid plates that offer full protection for offroad.The "skid plates" generally have the wings welded on or are one piece. Works Connection is definitely the beefiest, but also the priciest and heaviest. I have been running the Devol for a year with no problems...Where I ride is not rocky though.

+3 on the Hyde. It doesn't make the engine bay noisier like aluminum and doesn't affect the frame flex. Honestly, I don't know why someone didn't think of this sooner...............