Sign in to follow this  

drz400e O ring question

Using the excellent oil change FAQ GUIDE I started work on my 2007 DRZ400E ......I am new to the bike and a basic level workshop person (ok I am a dummy)....

The bike has done about 3500 miles (mostly commute into central london but about 400miles of green lanes in surrey/hampshire)...

So today .....I wished to change the oil and filter (its overdue) ....

Alas being an idiot I worked on the left hand side of the bike by the side stand and mistook the gearbox casing (the small one with 3 phillips screws on ) for the Oil filter cover .....

Now when I take of this gearbox housing there is an O ring that was covered with this grey milky oily liquid ......

I realised my mistake (doh) but when I tried to put the thing back on ...it looks like the o ring has expanded and it wont fit back in ....

my question is :-

1. I guess I just go down to the dealer and get a new o ring ....anyone know what part number or how to phrase the question ? or is there a tip to use the old one ?

2. Anything else I should be nervous of ......any tips oh wise ones ?

Yours wishing I had started on the other side of the bike.

Chris

Nothing to worry about really.

Are you talking about o-ring #32?

2037_6.gif

If it's that one then I doubt it expanded. Oil it and put the cover back on. It's a tight fit.

Yes #32 is the one ....it was a perfect fit when i removed it but since it popped out ......now the o ring is loose ....really loose ....can I confirm it should be sighted in the recess on the cover part #31 from the diagram above ? Looks the only logical place for it ....but I have tried to get it back on ...but there always seems to be tooooo much ring to make it fit right ....

worried that i can get 60% of the ring in that recess ...then use a screwdriver to cram the rest in and quickly tighten up the screws !!