Sign in to follow this  

drz to 625 or 690 smc

Hi, I made my mind up comeing from the DRZ400 supermoto side and will go orange i loved my little drz sm spent a load of cash to get the bhp up and it was fun but just not got it so sold it just over a year ago and been druwling over a 625 smc twin pipe model the question is should i go with the 625 or wait a bit longer and get the new 690 smc i love looks of them both

I guess it depends on what type of riding you really want to do. I have no experience with the 625, but I do with the 690. With a lot of motards you are limited to what you can do with it. Where a 690 is almost like a lightweight sport bike in reliability and ridability. The service intervils are DRZ like, but you have double the hp. At almost the same weight.

I have a DRZ400SM now and my close friend has the 690SMC. And the 690 feels lighter and more nimble in every way. The brakes are fantastic. My DRZ has braided lines with HH pads. And most ride my bike and comment on how great the brakes are. But they feel broken when ridden back to back with the 690.

Again I know nothing about the 625, but I have around 1000 miles in the seat of the 690SMC. Most if not all were track/racing miles. But it convinced me to buy one. I can't wait to pick it up.

From this

0501081007.jpg

to this will be a happy move.

704.jpg

The first time you hit a straight away with a few DRZ's and you wonder were they went, you will understand.

it will be used for a weekend toy mainly on the back roads ,twistys dont do any track days yet but you never no i bet they are a scream 690 looks the dogs just the price is a bit over buget but i can live with a few more months saving just in time for summer if the 625 not going to do it for me

I love my 690SMC more than any other bike I've ever owned. For what it is, it's VERY fast, light, nimble, and just all out fun. I had a DRZ400E and the 690 crushes it in every way possible. No comparison.