Sign in to follow this  

Amateur trying to clean carbuerator

Like the title says I'm an amateur; both at riding or repairing bikes. I have a stock 2003 DRZ125L that has been stored for about a year. Unfortunately I stored it with fuel and oil still in it. Ive been told that I just need to clean it and get all the gummed up fuel out of it. Sounds easy, is it? Any advice/tips would be greatly appreciated.

Ok this carb may not be exactly the same as yours but it's what I had next to me and it's close enough. It's from an LT160. you have 3 areas that are probably gummed up .

photo #1 is your pilot jet your most likely culpret this will affect low speed just off idle . with this pluged it may start and idele and as soon as you touch the throttle it will die. take it out and clean it.

IMG_0012.jpg

Photo #2 is your main jet this sits lowest in the bowl and gets pluged with varnish if left for a long wile with out proper storage. if this is pluged it may start and idle and even take throttle up to about half throttle then it will run rough or die out.. Take it out and clean it.IMG_0013.jpg

Photo#3 is your needle and seat. if this is dirty and stuck open it will often leak fuel from the carb vent hoses as soon as the petcock is turned on. If it

is stuck closed the bike will not run at all . gently push out the round pin that the float pivots on and remove the floats then pull out the needle and unscrew the seat . clean them or replace them and put it back together.

IMG_0014.jpg

Now as far as cleaning the pilot and main don't bother unless your desperate. Now is the perfect time to re jet the carb since you have it apart any how. search this forum for the recommended jet size for your engine and go to your local dealer and get them.

For more exact photos and instructions be sure to check this thred .

https://thumpertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=688056&highlight=re+jet+stock+carb

• Like 2