Any old/slow guys riding the WR450F?

I'm thinking of buying a new WR450F. I know the bike will rip but Idon't.

My little XR250 is 'bout 10 years old now. Runs great but I am sick of the kick and I would love to have enough power to lift the front wheel over obsticles at 15-20 MPH (not going to happen on the two fiddy). I don't want "explosive" power.

I have been riding for 35+ years but in general I am a pretty slow desert trail rider. I like single track when I can find it. Most of the time I'm in 3rd gear doing 'bout 20 mph through the whoops or so as I have been down, been broken and still hurt from those injuries and will till I die. Besides, once we start going much faster the women and children get left behind.

Occasionally I like to blast the sand washes and I will let her rip when the terrain is smooth. When it is rough or whooped out I have to keep my speed down as the 250 just won't lift the front wheel at speed.

I am a Honda fan but I really like the reliability of the WR and the little features like Pro-Taper bars, Excell rims, wide foot pegs, electroic odometer.

Anyway, any old and slow riders like me on the WR450? How is it working for you? Ever over heat? Ever feel too 'explosive"? Ever feel too heavy in the tight stuff? Ever sorry you did not go with the 250?

• Replies 101
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Well, I am almost 51 and ride a '03 wr450 and like it. It can be damn fast if you need it and will go pretty slow if jetting is correct. Ride it without the free mods before changing the bike. It might be just what you want.

JJ

Well, I am almost 51 and ride a '03 wr450 and like it. It can be damn fast if you need it and will go pretty slow if jetting is correct. Ride it without the free mods before changing the bike. It might be just what you want.

JJ