[[Template core/global/plugins/realFaviconGenerator does not exist. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]] Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

Another Noise Thread

Here's the problem. I just bought a 2006 DRZ 400 SM with 4300 miles. The bike runs flawlessly, but just off idle in all gears, I'm hearing a rattle or knocking sound. I hear it until the rpms get high, but I don't know if it goes away, or if the wind and other engine noise drowns it out. I've had two other DRZs, and I don't remember them having this noise. I'm no mechanic, but to me it sounds a lot like what I call piston slap. The kind of sound you get if you lug the engine in higher gears, and now I focus on the noise as soon as I start riding. Also, I don't hear it with the bike in neutral revving it in the driveway. I know it's hard to judge without hearing it yourself, but have any of you had this similar issue? I don't really want to take the bike to local Suzuki dealer because I haven't had very good experiences with their service dept. The guy I bought the bike from is a friend, and has agreed to make things right if there is a major problem. Help! I don't want to dislike this bike because of a simple problem.

i have almost 17k on my DRZ. it makes some knocking sounds here and there. occationally a new one will start then go away in about a 1000mi. these motors are noisy, i have always had clean oil come out when i change it so i dont worry about the noises anymore.

when i lug my Z i def get piston slap, i think its a common issue with these motors.

hopefully some more people chime in and can help you out!

http://trailbikeandrally.freeforums.org/want-to-know-what-700-quids-of-damage-to-a-drz-looks-like-t592.html

Kind of like a chatter noise that goes off at higher revs? Notice it more from low to mid Range? Bike runs fine, even pulls top speed etc etc?