new (to me) 86 xr600r

ok guys...i'm new to the XR world. i race mx and hare scrambles. i'm currently in school and work full time so my time is pretty limited as far as riding goes. i have i decided to pick this up to rebuild and race in the vintage class in our hare scramble series. should be a blast...

any words of advise? any issues i should really be aware of as far as the 86's go? (i heard 3rd gear is a downfall) good places to get parts for these?

i will be stripping it completely down, powder coating everything i can and wanting to make it raceable. it is not clean and it doesn't run. the guys says it needs a new coil and fresh gas and it'll start right up...but that seems pretty hard to beleive.

i noticed was return spring on the kick start is gone...i've never tried kicking one of these over but common sense would say it's a beast. i mean it is a 600 lol... i also noticed the chain guard (case saver) is missing and the case is cracked where the bolts would screw in...:lol:

Feb18_0003.jpg

Feb18_00011.jpg

Feb20_0009.jpg

i'm currently in the process of rebuilding a 125 so i wont be able to start digging into this thing until i get my work bench cleaned off.

again, anything you guys can think of would be awesome!

Wow you got your hands full with this one. Like you said, 3rd gear and 2nd tend to chip and pit, I just replaced both of them on the mainshaft. Make sure to check the gears on the countershaft too. Other than that these bikes are bullet-proof. Just check everything for wear and abuse and replace as necessary. Good luck

The stators are also known for going bad more often than the coils or CDIs. If the cranking spark is weak, check the stator first.

They really aren't hard to kick if you use the compression release properly and do the "starting drill." The kickstart spring is also fairly easy to replace. All you have to do is take the clutch cover off, remove two retainer screws, and wiggle the kickstart shaft out.