01 rm250 running rich

i bought an 01 rm250 it had this setup stock pipe, with a pro circuit r304 shorty silencer, it ran good with that setup, but because i do all my riding at a state park i need a spark arrestor, so i bought a fmf turbine core 2 spark arrestor and installed it.

first ride with the spark arrestor sputtering up top, great low to mid (i think) but no top. eventually fouled a plug, went to my carb went down on the main jet from 160 to 155

rode it again same altitude and settings and it rode a bit better, but still sputtering and still fouled the plug (longer ride duration though)

im a beginner when it comes to jetting, what do you think i should do?

i dont want to go leaner on the main for fear of running too lean

what are some recommendations?

setup: 01 rm250, 40:1 premix ratio, stock pipe with turbine core 2 spark arrestor

i ride at carnegie OHV in northern california i think its about 100-600 feet above sea level. normally not humid at all.

can any body help me???

You have a 160 main jet? Stock is a 460. PC recommends using a 430 with their pipe. And the stock pilot jet, but change the clip position on the needle to the 2md position.

Procircuit recommends a 160 mainjet over the 162 stock, and they do recommend raiseing the clip position to the 2nd position.

Stock RM250 jetting 162 main, 48 pilot, N3WK jet needle, 3RD clip position, airscrew 1 1/2 turns out

Pro Circuit recommended jetting 160 main, 48 pilot, N3WK jet needle, 2ND clip position, with the airscrew 11/2 turns out

You need to start from the pilot and wok your way through the needle and main jets, providing everything is fairly fresh motor wise(topend, reeds)Temepature/elevation and riding style will all play a part in jetting.

What was I looking at? But yes yathump is correct.

Hey I ride at carnegie too all the time :p