Sign in to follow this  

WR250X dual sport mods question

I have a WR250X and would like to use it more like a light dual sport. I live in Alaska and want to do mostly street riding, but I want to take some gravel roads as well. I'm not looking to mod it for real dirt riding. I'm still learning and want to keep this bike for a while, but I'll be upgrading in the future.

I want to do some mods, but I don't want to spend too much $$ or alter it too much to hurt the resale in the future.

I'm thinking of:

Renazco or Corbin seat or just a seat pad

I want to add some 17" dual purpose tires. I like the MEFO explorers the best, but would be ok with some Distanzias.

I'm adding some handguards with different mirrors

I have a small windshield

Any advice on the suggested mods above or any other ideas on what I should do?

Do I need to convert to the Dirt Wheels (21" front and 18" rear) to use it as a light dual sport? I've seen the 17" knobby thread and that is what got me to thinking about this.

As long as the gravel roads you're considering are fairly tame, I don't think you'd have any problem with the WRX and a set of Distanzias.

The only things I'd add to your list is a skid plate, a rack, and/or a tail bag.

Heck, for only gravel, the stock street tires will be fine. It doesn't matter if you have tread, knobs, or slicks on with gravel.

A light weight skid plate may be a good idea for a lot of gravel as it will prevent the rocks from being thrown up at your engine.

A skid plate and bark-busters is all I've done to my WRX and I plan on motarding and backroading with some fairly serious rocks and gravel.

Heck, for only gravel, the stock street tires will be fine.

Ja, fo sho. I've taken mine trail-riding and on a local TT track on the stockers. Just head out and do it. :)

190.jpg

Roknjs what part of ak are you in? I took my

Crotch rocket out to Jim creek on it's

Stock tires! You should be good to go umtill

You encounter mud.