Sign in to follow this  

Turns to the next level…..thinking outside the box

I have been putting a lot of thought lately the MENTAL aspect of improving my MX skills. :p While I am fairly new to MX (2 years), I have done competitive sports all my life (45 years). I think this would mostly apply to those who already have some grasp of basic skills. NOT the true beginner.

What is it that truly holds us back from taking it to the next level. Example: If a competent MX coach is giving you specific instructions on a specific skill and you understand what they are saying and are physically capable of doing those techniques, then what is it that is keeping you from doing them? The only thing left is that muscle (large or small) between your ears. With the exception of the very few, and even fewer of us older riders, nobody just throws all caution to the wind and says I don’t care what happens to me. I’M GUNNA GO FOR IT!

What if when learning to improve your turning skills, you go at it with the attitude that you are absolutely going to attack that turn to the point that you WILL fall, no question, and not, “I sure don’t want to crash in this turn so I better not hit it too hard”. I do believe that this can be done SAFELY. YES!! Put on all your safety gear then find a turn section that has no rocks, no 20 ravines on the other side, no heavy traffic and so on. Notice that I am not saying “go into that turn and fall down”. There is a difference. Say to yourself, “Self. I am going to attack that turn harder than I have ever attacked it before and I am going fall down doing it”. A couple of other notes here. I believe that this approach would only apply to turns. It’s not that you can’t get hurt doing this while working on turns but to try this on jumps, whoops or rhythm sections would more than likely get you back INTO the box. A PINE box. Six feet under!!