Sign in to follow this  

80-100 cc trail bike ????

I need some opinions on late 90's and newer 80-100cc bikes for my daughter,mostly trail riding and play riding with a possible hare scramble once in awhile.She is 5'3"-5'4" about 100 lbs.not a great rider but not a total noob either.

I believe a KX100 or RM100 would be my first choices,a little more then I realy want to spend right now though.

I have found a few YZ80 and 85's closer to what I plan on spending, however I believe the RM's and KX's are the only ones with power valves?is that correct?

I want a fairly smooth power delivery can the YZ's and CR's be set up for a smooth power delivery without spending a lot,or am I better off keeping my search on the KX's and RM's? I have no brand preferance,I would like to know the pros and cons of each brand.

Thanks

I am 5'4" and just got a kx100 and love it! If that's what you want, keep looking and you'll find a deal or a good running cheap one. They have been made for many years. You can always tame it down at first with a FWW and/or gearing changes and put it back later if she wants to race. I see it as a very versatile bike.

My RM has power valves and I am pretty sure that only the KX and RM have them. I am 6'0" and ride an RM80 and it doesn't fit me too bad at all. I like smaller bikes better though. What has your daughter ridden before? To be honest there really isn't much of any difference between the KX and the RM. I have never ridden a 100 so I can't comment on them but the 80's are nice and zippy little bikes. I use my '94 RM80 for mostly trail riding but take it to my buddy's MX track now and then.