Sign in to follow this  

Hot Rectifier/Regulator

Not getting a charge,(motor on,3000rpm, runs below 13volts)Ipretty much get no rise above what the battery is charged to. I have been following Noble's charging diagnoses, and I'm new to working with a multimeter. Just bought another one, this time it has all the functions I need. So far everything has tested good, I will be retesting tonight with the new meter. Getting to my question, is the RR normally hot. Its not burn'n hot but it seems warmer than it should be after riding(I have done the "free power mod"). Is there something I'm missing. 01'DRZ400S

Not getting a charge,(motor on,3000rpm, runs below 13volts)Ipretty much get no rise above what the battery is charged to. I have been following Noble's charging diagnoses, and I'm new to working with a multimeter. Just bought another one, this time it has all the functions I need. So far everything has tested good, I will be retesting tonight with the new meter. Getting to my question, is the RR normally hot. Its not burn'n hot but it seems warmer than it should be after riding(I have done the "free power mod"). Is there something I'm missing. 01'DRZ400S

Yeppers......Normal.... The Z`s R/R works by supply`ing the demand of the battery and electrical system. It supply`s that from the stator. Whatever excessive juice produced....it sends to ground.....dissipating it as heat.....thus the stator all ways running at 100%....and the r/r gets hot.....:p:ride:

Erling

Thanks for the info, hopefully I can find out where my juice is going!!:p

Thanks for the info, hopefully I can find out where my juice is going!!:moon:

We can be of better assist if you post the tests you performed along with the results......:p:ride:

Erling

Being your RR gets hot (as it should/does) I suspect your stator is fine. I suggest checking the connector from the RR to the harness and the connector to the fuse holder. Look for signs of corrosion and/or melting.