Sign in to follow this  

just dont have the balls?

i have been riding track for a while and i have rode trails for years when i come up to a jump and intimidating lip for some reason i just wont commit to it, any tip's?

If you dont want to do it then dont do it!!! Dont forget why you ride... If you do want to do it then just work your way up to it (build confidence on smaller jumps). Stay in your comfort zone, but always try to make your comfort zone expand.

Start small, find a small jump and learn to make the most of it, speed, preloading, bliping the gas in air to bring the front up, using the rear brake to drop it. Also table tops are a great if you come up short no biggie not like doubles or triples.

I've been riding for 7 years, I still hate jumps. I wont slow down for a jump on the trail, but I generally don't do doubles on the track. My body is my livelyhood, I can't afford to miss work. As long as you go fast everywhere else, don't feel like it's a lack of balls.

If you do attempt a jump, just don't wuss out on the ramp and coast over it. Your front end will drop and you'll be in for a violent suprise. It's important to read the lip, some jumps take more throttle than others just to keep the bike level in the air based on the shape of the ramp. When I was first learning to jump, I liked to practice flat drop-offs (usually a 3 feet or so, the loading ramps at some OHV parks work great). Once I got the bike to run level off of those, I started hitting the jumps with some more confidence.

as some guys have said, dont do it if your not confident. the worst thing you can do on a jump is force yourself to do something your not comfortable with and do it half way. thats how you get hurt. unfortunately jumps are kind of an all or nothing, so start on something small that your willing to go all the way with, and take it from there.