Sign in to follow this  

What's this pin for?

I was draining my oil today so I can do the Primary Nut fix and found this stuck to my oil plug (lower one). The only thing I can figure is it's from my auto decomp that broke a while back. I chopped the auto decomp off BTW. The oil hasn't been changed since before that happened and it doesn't run any different. Am I on track or can someone shed some light on what this pin goes to... thanks in advance....:p

IMG_0007.jpg

IMG_0005.jpg

Was the pin missing on the autodecomp when u removed it?

Could it be a roller from a roller bearing?

Pretty lucky that pin didnt grenade your mill.

Was the pin missing on the autodecomp when u removed it?

Could it be a roller from a roller bearing?

Pretty lucky that pin didnt grenade your mill.

There was part of the pin there but I don't know how long it was supposed to be. A friend mentioned roller bearings as well but I'm not sure where they are to check them. I'm still fairly new to this motor. I know I'm real lucky it got thru with no apparent damage....:p

you can see the small pin from the auto decomp in all these pics

hope they help

I believe I kept the whole assembly so I should be able to measure it. But it will not be for another two weeks till I am back at the location where the parts reside.

auto-decomp-1.jpg

auto_decomp3.jpg

auto-decompremoved1-1.jpg

auto-decompremoved4.jpg

Jbw

• Like 1

The trip from the head to the drain plug is a long one if not impossible for a pin of that size to travel.

I would stop running that motor till you figure out whats going on.

you can see the small pin from the auto decomp in all these pics

hope they help

I believe I kept the whole assembly so I should be able to measure it. But it will not be for another two weeks till I am back at the location where the parts reside.

auto-decomp-1.jpg

auto_decomp3.jpg

auto-decompremoved1-1.jpg

auto-decompremoved4.jpg

Jbw