Sign in to follow this  

Will a DRZ250 satisfy?

I've been riding a WR250 for several years and have a need to get an additional bike that I can trade off ride time with a new son-in-law.

I could get a new '06 WR250, but I've spotted a '05 DRZ250 for about $3k less.

Question is, will I/we be satisfied with the DR? I rode a CRF230 before I got the WR, so I'm thinking the DR is about a half step back to that ride. Which could be OK. If the DR can, at least, sort of keep up, or if it handles good in the woods,... hmmm. With 4 inches lower seat, it ought to feel/be more maneuverable. On the other hand, if I can get the dealer to knock $2k off the WR ... more hmmm.

Any DRZ fans out there?

I had a TT-R 250. The DR-Z is basically a yellow TT-R.

Motorwise it really depends on the terrain. In the tighter going the low end grunt of the DR-Z will actually be an asset vs. the WR 250f. In the open stuff and hillclimbs the WR will obviously slaughter the DR-Z.

In the suspension department the WR will own the DR-Z. You could get the DR-Z suspension close but is that money you want to spend? The only place where I think a DR-Z type bike would have the advantage with the stock suspension would be in terms of comfort riding in really rocky, technical terrain.

Handling: My TT-R and the XR 250R's I've ridden turned on a dime because of their short wheelbases. This makes them less stable at speed though. I expect the DR-Z 250 to be about the same. The air cooled 250 thumpers carry their weight kinda high (more so on the TT-R and DR-Z because of the battery) and that makes side to side transitioning weird feeling.

Brakes: The WR will have better brakes, but the DR-Z probably won't be off by much. The difference in braking performance is probably insignificant for general trail riding.

Comfort: If you're not tall and sit down most of the time you can't beat the big cushy seat on the DR-Z. The cockpit on these bikes is cramped so standing is a chore unless you have tall bars.