Sign in to follow this  

Kdx220??

Hi. I'm considering a KDX220 or a KLX300.

I've read lots of opinions after doing a search of archived posts.

Just wondering if the KDX is oil injected or do I need to pre-mix?

I'd be fiddling with either bike should I get it and adding some aftermarket stuff.

I'd be doing woods riding with a mix of tight stuff, rocks, and the odd open trail. I'd like to eventually do an amateur hare scramble.

I love 2-strokes, but the ease of a 4-stroke appeals to me maintenance wise.

I understand both are fairly reliable.

Which one would you recommend??.

I am not an expert, but I can help with your decision a little I think... The KDX is a little quicker, and a little lighter than the KLX300. Honestly if I were looking at 4 strokes I dont think I would be looking at one of those (maybe a 250 of some sort or a 400) There are tons of good four strokes that are smooth and easy to ride. I am not dissing the KLX300, but if it were me I would rather be on an XR or DRZ (both are great bikes). If your goal is to learn to ride fast for racing purposes the KDX may be a good start. They make excellent offroad machines in terms of fun and comfort, and they are quick enough to race at the beginner/intermediate level without having to spend money on mods at all. They are about as bullet proof and reliable as you can get with any dirtbike on the market.