Sign in to follow this  

New SM owner, thoughts/opinions wanted

First of all I love this forum. Looks like alot of great info and very helpful people. I just picked up a brand new 2009 SM a couple of weeks ago and already I'm thinking of modding it :p By trade I'm a computer modder and I just can't help thinking about tweaking the bike. I just figured I would ask some questions in one thread because after doing many searches there is almost too much info here...

I just ordered an edge tailight, aprilia turono mirrors, and zeta handguards to clean up the look of the bike but now I'm thinking of performance mods. I'm not looking to drop a ton of cash and I don't need the fastest bike I just can't leave it stock.

I have decided to order a jetting kit here from TT and I'm going to do the 3x3 airbox mod once I get it installed. Now for some questions.

Is there a drop in replacement for the headlight bulb that is alot brighter but still has a good life?

Should I go ahead and order a new header and install it at the same time?

FMF has the powerbomb header cheap enough but will it work with the factory muffler (is the connection at the end of the header too big)?

Even if it does work will it help much or should I go ahead and get the pipe as well?

I don't want an extremely loud exhaust and have read FMF is quieter than most but does anyone know about how many dbs?

I run 85% on roads with a 55mph speed limit but will be getting on the interstate/highway some. Will changing to a rear 39t sprocket be easy to install and after the above mentioned mods still have the same below 55mph torque I'm accustomed to now?

Flame away :ride: because I know all of this info is already here but its spread out and this will be the first time I'll be wrenching around on an engine. Also feel free to suggest any other mods that I have missed and thanks again for the great community.