Sign in to follow this  

YZ125 vs YZ250

Hello

I am new to dirt bikes and tracks and trails, all my life I rode enduro bikes to work around a ranch though.

I bought a 2001 YZ125 which was a blast, then an opportunity came to buy a 2005 YZ250 for barely more than what I had been offered for the 125, and as they weighed more or less the same, I did the upgrade, but I found you CAN have TOO much power. So I bought a 1995 YZ125 (for $150) that had been ran without oil. I replated the cylinder, put a new piston, seals, fork seals, clutch boss, etc and finally have it running well. I am tempted to sell the YZ250 and keep the 125. I am 40, 5''11, 185#.

Would it take me a long time to get to safely control the power of the 250? I love the bike, it is so smooth, torquey, light, etc. But even with a flywheel weight I added I can't safely control it. Another alternative would be going to a gnarly pipe, it advertises it makes it behave like a 4 stroke. Definitely I would get a lot more money for the 250 than for the 125...

For the trails I have a very reliable 1989 KDX200, so I am not really concerned about the trail capability of each, unless I can have a bike that does both pretty well...

I will be happy to hear opinions, comments, advise or criticisms on the issue.

i say stick with the 250, its a lot newer, better ride, more comfortable, easier to get parts for.

It shouldnt take long ot be confortable with it, i just pick up a 99 yz250 in october after not riding for 4 years, took me 2 rides and i wasnt scared at all anymore and can control it easily... just takes seat time, im 5'11" and 155lbs they arnt as bad as you make it seem!!!

youll get bored of the 125 also yet they are a fun bike to toy around on! keep both and get used to both, then you can have fun on both!

Yea..If You can keep both do it! I love 125's but have a YZ250 now. I had to remember that I am NOT Ricky Carmichael, and can NOT ride the 250 like I can a 125..Which is pinned..WFO!