Sign in to follow this  

Amsoil and Clutches

I have been using amsoil for a couple years in my bikes. I love how well things are wearing. But I was told by a seasoned mechanic/racer about a year ago that he won't use it because he has problems with it in regard to clutches. Well things were fine for me for quite awhile but now both bikes are going through clutches fairly fast. The 250 basket was getting pretty notchy so I replaced it with a complete hinson setup. So we'll see how long it lasts. The 450's basket is good and I just replaced the plates. I am now switching to Rotella to see if there is a difference. Anybody on here have any problems with clutch life while using Amsoil.

I cannot testify as to whether or not synthetics actually hurt the clutch over time, but the pro I bought my 450 from made me promise that I would run Rotella and change it after every ride. It's a pain to change it that often, but no clutch problems, and the motor still runs like new. :)

I'm currently running amsoil formula 4-Stroke 0W-40 in my YZ250 with no problems so far but, When my friend got his 250F engine rebuilt by a reputable shop they told him the same thing about amsoil causing the clutch to slip and wear. I didn't believe it but if mechanics are saying the same thing I think I might make the switch to Rotella. Can Anyone recommend what kind though? (in a 2 stroke)

I'm currently running amsoil formula 4-Stroke 0W-40 in my YZ250 with no problems so far but, When my friend got his 250F engine rebuilt by a reputable shop they told him the same thing about amsoil causing the clutch to slip and wear. I didn't believe it but if mechanics are saying the same thing I think I might make the switch to Rotella. Can Anyone recommend what kind though? (in a 2 stroke)

You can run anything shy of Crisco shortening in a two stroke gear box. Rotella 15W-40 will do you fine. I use car oil in mine and have had zero troubles but I don't race - ever.