Sign in to follow this  

Need Advice on Sprockets, Chains, Old DRZ

First let me say that I have searched and read several posts on this topic. I know about the loctite fix and plan on doing it. I'm just a novice at mechanics and need a little of your experience before I move ahead and do the wrong thing or spend money on something I don't need.

I have a 2000 DRZ with about 4500 miles on it that I have neglected for several years since I started riding a V-Strom DL650 . Last week I decided to dust it off and go through some basic maintenance. Long story short, I changed oil, oil filter, spark plug, flushed coolant, new air filter.

I'm now to the drive chain and sprockets which are original stock (now 9 years old). I started to clean the chain and noticed that the O-rings were deteriorated due mostly to age. So it's time for a new chain. The sprockets aren't that worn, but I know it's best to change them all out with a new chain.

Of course, now I'm thinking about changing the gearing too. I used to ride the DRZ for about 80% Hwy/20% Dirt, But since getting the DL650, it's more like 20% Hwy/80% Dirt.

So here's my plan and questions:

1. I plan on going with a new 15 Front 47 Rear Sprocket. It looks like this will give me a little more grunt in the dirt and still give me some decent highway capability. Does that sound about right for what I want to do? I think I can use the same length chain on this setup--right?

2. What size is the c/s nut and what are the minimum tools and parts that I need to remove it and install the new one? (Am I likely going to need an impact wrench to get the stock nut off? Gear puller for sprocket?)

3. I'm not clear on what's going on with the washer/O-ring on the c/s when I remove the sprocket. Is there an O-ring behind the sprocket? Will I need to buy a new washer and/or O-ring?