Sign in to follow this  

4t vs 2t?

I've been riding 05 450r set up for hare scrambles for about 3 years and I guess Ive got new bike fever. I'm wondering how a 2 stroke would handle vs the 4 stroke. The four stroke gets heavy after 2 or 3 laps and I'm about dead. Everyone I ride with rides ktm but I can't complain about the honda...it's a perfect bike...just wondering what everyone thinks.

thanks!

Have you looked at the Huskys? They have what I consider an attractive line-up for hare scrambles. wr250? TXC450 (e-start)

i have heard that 2 strokes are awesome for hare scrambles. i loved the chassis on my 07 CR 250 2 stroke, the motor needed some work but overall i loved the bike. you could pick up a used 250 2stroke for a great price and spend not much setting it up for hare scrambles and still keep your 4 stroke then decide which to sell. i bet you could get a real clean bike and after the mods still be under 3k. not sure if that is an option for you but may work out real good. i know ktm is giving great deals on left overs and there demo program you can get smokin deals plus the power parts package they give is about 1500 worth of stuff

I've just made the move from yam 250f to ktm 200xc.I was very nervouse about it but was gettingtired of all the maintainence on the 4 stroke. First thing I noticed was how light and flickable it was.two different types of power but pretty equal . A little more shifting on the 2t.In our tight woods first second and third pretty much could cover eveything on the 2 im always shifting up and down,my quick summary so far I love the 2 t and it will be a lot less maintainence and cheaper to keep running

The e-start KTM 300 is badass and can probably be lugged like a 4-banger. The 200 would be killer for flicking around in tight woods.

Have you looked at the Huskys? They have what I consider an attractive line-up for hare scrambles. wr250? TXC450 (e-start)