Sign in to follow this  

When is it time to move up?

as a topic that i see go mostly unnoticed. i had to ask. when is it time to move up?

my mom and dad and I were talking over dinner a few nights ago about racing and what not.. and i casually mentioned having a few practice sessions from now and again on a friends bike to prepare for a move up in about a year and a half. now let me stop here and give some background information about myself. im 13 weigh 120# and am 5' 8". ive been riding for three years and racing for about 6 months. ive been through 5 bikes and currently have 2 rm85s. now back to the story. so i say dad, should i ride

125s for a year before moving to 250Fs or just make the jump. he tells me im not riding nothing but 85s til im 16!!! i said dad. you always harp about safety and now your telling me this!! its completely unsafe to be 16 and probably around 6' 2" riding around on an 85.especially since i can only race them until im 15. now i know ive got a little while to change his mind but this is worrying me. im in no hurry and want to put in atleast another season and a half on minis but what i'd like to know is what you all think is the right time to move up?? at what age did YOU move up?

I was 13 when I got my 125 however, back then they were some what smaller yet I still could only touch the ground with my toes...

As for you...being as big as you are and still growing I could only imagine you're tearing up the bikes with your size.

It more has to do with frame size, than CC/power, IMO. When you start feeling like a clown on a unicycle, time to move up. You've doing it right, though, find a friend with a bigger bike and try it out for a few laps. There are many thing you can do to your current bike to help with sizing, too, though. higher bars, lower pegs, etc...

There's a kid here who's 14 and races A (and does very well) on a 125 in the local winter Harescramble circuit.