Sign in to follow this  

1982 Z50R Custom Photos

This is my 1982 Honda Z50R that I've been working on for the last five years or so. Bought the frame on eBay and had it powder coated the original Tahiti red (or as close as I could get it). Bought a ratted out 1998 XR70 engine on eBay that needed to be completely rebuilt. Fixed transmission, replaced bearings, bored it out to 80cc using a Powroll 11:1 piston kit and camshaft. Bolted on a Takegawa manual clutch set-up as well as a BBR 18mm carb kit. Again through eBay found a seller offering the Kitaco stainless exhaust system that uses the OEM chrome heat shield.

Next, I wanted to upgrade the suspension so I found a Kitaco hydraulic fork kit for the XR50 in Japan and special ordered it. I used Fast 50s Billet wheels (12" front and 10" back). Moved the front drum to the left side of the wheel because I think it works better that way. The rear suspension consists of a polished Kitaco extended aluminum swing arm (+2") with Hagon 305mm long shocks. Using a Honda OEM Monkey seat (much better for adults), NOS OEM gas tank along with Renthal Mini high handle bars.

Issues? Have had a tough time getting the carb. jetted correctly. Had to make a custom spacer for rear wheel (narrowed the original).

IMG_1366.jpg

IMG_1368.jpg

IMG_1370.jpg

very nice, im goin that route with an 91 i just got..

but am wondering.. can the points take some revs or will they do what my Puch magnum used to do? just float and not giv more rpm? (solved with adding another spring from bad points..killed points in 500 miles though :) )

could i install an inner rotor kit on the older engine??

Thanks for the nice comments!