Sign in to follow this  

What can I do to get better endurance?

This year I just started racing harescrambles in the beginner class. For some background info I have been riding for about 3 years, I am 17, 150lbs and am a distance runner on the track team. I usually run about 5 miles a day and can run a 5:00 mile. But when it comes to racing by the end of a race I am always completly dead. I have done 5 races so for and usually finish in the top 10 out of 40 riders. But what I dont get is that most of the people I am riding with are older, bigger and look rather out of shape. How is it that they do it so much better than me. Should I do more lifting and strength training or do I need to just up my cardio work out. What does one of your guy's work outs typically consist of. Any input would be appraciated. Thanks

This year I just started racing harescrambles in the beginner class. For some background info I have been riding for about 3 years, I am 17, 150lbs and am a distance runner on the track team. I usually run about 5 miles a day and can run a 5:00 mile. But when it comes to racing by the end of a race I am always completly dead. I have done 5 races so for and usually finish in the top 10 out of 40 riders. But what I dont get is that most of the people I am riding with are older, bigger and look rather out of shape. How is it that they do it so much better than me. Should I do more lifting and strength training or do I need to just up my cardio work out. What does one of your guy's work outs typically consist of. Any input would be appraciated. Thanks

it's probably how they ride the bike. Are you fighting it thru the race?

If you are a distance runner, you don't need any more endurance. Weight training may help if you just are not strong enough to handle the bike, but I doubt that, that would be like 7 year old weak. :)