Sign in to follow this  

1998 RM250 clutch replacement... questions...

I just got a '98 RM250. We took it to an offroad park today and found that the clutch seems to be in dire need of replacement...

I am new to bike mechanics, but have worked on cars/trucks for years.

I am really not sure where to start. Can someone give me some direction? I will be installing a new cable (due to age) but doubt that will fix my overall problem. I definitely notice the clutch slipping and the other odd thing is that the clutch lever doesn't completely let the clutch disengage. I kept stalling the motor even when the clutch lever was pulled all the way in.

ANYWAY: I see these $100 or so clutch kits on ebay - I also see clutch baskets... How do I know what I need? Is this a simple replacement process?

ANY HELP would be greatly appreciate - I just need to know where to start.

Welcome and congrats on your purchase!

Clutches are pretty easy to replace. All you will need are some basic hand tools. If you don't have a manual for the bike spend a little and get one - you will thank yourself repeatedly.

IMO, don't go with the cheap eBay kits. Invest in some quality components and the clutch will last a lot longer.

The best route to take is to take the side cover off, remove the clutch plates, inspect them and the basket. Then decide which parts you need. Post up pictures of what you find and we can help you decide.

1 Get yourself a Clymer Manual.

2 Check your clutch basket while it is apart and see if it is grooved badly. If so, you may be able to file the grooves down. However, this can only be done like once or maybe twice before you need to replace the basket.

EBC makes good clutch kits and you can get them cheap at TT store or other places.

Can I take the cover off w/o draining the case? Will I need a new gasket if I open it?

I am trying to assess what I will need, but can't afford to actually do it right now.