Sign in to follow this  

Mccall, ID in August - ride recommendations?

I'm a fairly experienced Seattle area rider (MX and trail riding background) riding a well-prepared KTM 450 EXC-R. Day ride recommendations would be much appreciated!

Thanks for the help in advance,

Hamp

Get a Payette National forest map and the trails will be marked. Loon lake is supposed to be a good trail ( there was a great trip report on KTM talk with lots of pics ) .

I haven't made it that far north yet (about 2 hrs drive) as far as riding is concerned. I only have 2 days a week to ride and there still another couple hundred miles of trails to ride btween here and there besides what i have already ridden.

Victor Creek ... when it's been cleared, lol. A group of us went out for what we thought was going to be 'cut a decent amount of logs then go have fun' type trail ... ended up running out of daylight and spent the night in the dirt. I've never tried to jump so many logs before ... in the dark. But it sure was one of the most memorable rides of my life and I can hardly wait to get back out there. The Burgdorf area is a WHOLE nother kinda level of riding. :):banghead:

Here's some pics from 'The 24hrs of Victor Creek'.

S5002093.jpg

S5002095.jpg

We did have some sections in the day that we were able to enjoy.

tresa.jpg

I can't fully remember the name of all the trails we rode that day ... Victor Creek for sure was one I can't forget ... but I remember part of Loon maybe? And perhaps an easier trail called Bear Pete? I'm sure Mark will chime in a bit.

That riding up by burgdorf is alot of fun but make sure like JAT says know what is clear for sure, I have stayed in the woods up there too! There is alot of nice scenery for sure. that whole area is an intermeiate to expert level of riding, a couple buddies from Boise call it the " Prooving Grounds"!