Sign in to follow this  

learn to revlave/shim

I need some help here. Are there manuals out there to teach this trade?

nope. Mx-tech and Race Tech both offer classe though. Lots of forum material if you don't mind searching and reading.

I decided to try to learn suspension about 18 months ago, and i'm still learning and readin almost every day... prepare to put in a lot of hours if you really want to understand and not just take someones word for the way things are.

I couldnt find anyone who was willing to teach me... i offered to work for free at a number of suspension tuners, but they all siad no, so i went to a race tech seminar and it was great. Cost me about $2000 but it was worth it for someone like me who had never taken suspension apart before 9well, only once or twice). They dont tell you specific stacks to use but they do tell you enough to figure it out for yourself. The only true way to learn is by doing it though!

Ive probably revalved my own bike about 30 times, and have borrowed friends bikes to do the same to... i have also spent about $2000 on tools and shims so its not a cheap hobby. But you could get away with spending much less than that (or much more!). the first 5 times i revlaved i didnt have any special tools and took the shock to the local bike shop to have it regassed.

So the moral of the story is... start reading and although none of it will make sense at first, just keep reading over and over and keep testing on your own bike and it will slowly start to come together.

thanks for the replies guys.

I have searched all this over and over. I too have asked a local guy but got hesitation. I thought about the RT class but hear its all show and no hands on not too mention it is designed around their valves.

So, my basic desire is to just open it up and learn how it all works together. I have been in mx for a long time but have only replaced seals, springs, oil.

What all would i need to make sure I get it all back together correctly?