Sign in to follow this  

Ever lose a shock bolt?

I raced a harescramble yesterday and when I got home I noticed I had lost the upper shock bolt. Has this ever happened to anyone? I have been riding for over 20 years and have never seen this. I don't know how I didn't feel it while riding, maybe the lack of linkage/movement helped it stay in the mount without falling out? Anyways, this is just a heads up to check ALL your bolts regularly. I thought I checked everything, but I admit I don't check my shock bolt too often.

I lost one on my '07 450. The bike felt a little wierd, like it was really choppered out, and I found that it was gone. Ever since that happened, I've been checking it reguarly.

A stock KTM bolt was like $12, so I went to Lowe's and got a grade 8 bolt of the same size, but longer. I put a lock nut on the backside of it this time so it should never back out. It cost me like $3.

yup...lost one on my 06 250xc. Just keep an eye on it.

Tighten bolt with the weight of the bike on tires. Not on a stand.

Safety wire the bolt in place.

Last week i was just tinkering with my bike and found top bolt was loose.

I have heard of this on KTM's and I also heard that it will sometimes bend the shock shaft if the bolt comes out

I drilled a hole in the bolt and lock wired it to the sub frame. It still has a tendancy to loosen up but won't fall out.

A stock KTM bolt was like $12, so I went to Lowe's and got a grade 8 bolt of the same size, but longer. I put a lock nut on the backside of it this time so it should never back out. It cost me like $3.

Lowe's had a metric bolt that size??????