Sign in to follow this  

Idle/starting Help Please

if this is stupid i am sorry, i am new to this.

my idle needs to be adjusted down. i i adjust it and it makes no difference. until i rev the hand throttle. then the adj sets in. problem is, it never stays not even for one ride. as soon as i set it where i need it, then rev the bike. the new setting is gone. can someone help me. i think there is a problem between the the "wrap around-flex adjuster" to the carb.

also, my bike is hard to start. i know that its probably valves. its an 04. i usually catch it in gear to start it the first time. then if i shut it off and wait like 7 minutes. use the hot start, and the smallest throttle possible, on the compression stroke, and jump on it with all i got, most the time it will go if i get it right. if i dont get it first try forget it.

i know most people here will say kibble whites and new seats. thats fine, i call my local shop and tell them i want new seats cut and they are like why? and totally contradict what i read on here. what you guys think?

sorry for the repeat of a popular topic.

There could be several reasons why your throttle doesn't return properly. Dirty slide, worn / dry cables, worn / dirty throttle tube, even the grip on too far. As far as the valves go there are thousands of post on TT about that. The quick answer is do the job correctly the first time. New valves, new springs, and cut the seats. Personal preference, I had my head done by Dave at MXTime.

thanks, i know that there is alot out there onthe valves. you think i should just go right to new vavles springs and seats? just the intake side?

The big knurled knob with a screwdriver flat slit on the left side is the idle. It will be attached to a bracket and lead to the carb. The mixture screw is located on the bottom of the carb and is next to impossible to reach unless you have changed it to a longer type.