Sign in to follow this  

Help with Arm Pump

I'm just getting into riding again after being off the bike for 6 months. This weekend was my first weekend of practicing. I got some major arm pump and i'd like to lose that asap so i can rip! Please post any tips or advice you have to get rid of it. I do not lift what so ever either...Thanks!:)

I've never had any serious problems with arm pump, but from what I've heard the best solution is to strengthen the muscles with one of those spring loaded fist excersise machines.... not sure what you call it, the kind you hold in one hand and just squeeze open and shut. Basically two handles connected by a spring, resisting pressure to squeeze it closed....

man somthing that i have discovered is that energy drinks accelerate arm pump. I like the boost i get from them, but it definately increases arm pump. I tried riding a few months ago without one, and it was hands down way better. I imagine it is due to increased blood flow or somthin like that

man somthing that i have discovered is that energy drinks accelerate arm pump. I like the boost i get from them, but it definately increases arm pump. I tried riding a few months ago without one, and it was hands down way better. I imagine it is due to increased blood flow or somthin like that

Energy drinks are a diuretic. Instead of hydrating you like water would, they give you a mental boost but cause you to dehydrate a lot quicker. Also the carbonation doesn't help keep lactic acid buildup to a minimum. Try eating a good meal the night b4 you race and also a balanced breakfast. You'll feel way better than with that energy drink.

I'm just getting into riding again after being off the bike for 6 months. This weekend was my first weekend of practicing. I got some major arm pump and i'd like to lose that asap so i can rip! Please post any tips or advice you have to get rid of it. I do not lift what so ever either...Thanks!:)