Sign in to follow this  

Calling all dodge dakota owners

looking at a 2002 dodge dakota with the 4.7 v8 in it with 35-36k miles on it for 9k. Everything on the truck looks too perfect for the price. I did notice however that the oil pressure gauge sits just below the 3/4 mark. Not sure if this is normal for this truck and engine. I do know the ramifications if the oil pressure is too high or why it would be high. So if anyone has any input that would make my week because i really need a pickup and this would be nice. Thanks!!!

not a hundred percent sure since i have th 5.9L but mine sits around that area so u should be good..id be more worried if it sat real low.

I worked as a Dodge Tech and the 4.7L are very solid motor. I wouldn't be to concerned about the oil pressure.

Just really check it over:

How is the oil? (black, thick, dirty, do you get a hint of gas when you smell it)

How are the ball joints? (they did have recall on them)

Pull out a sparkplug.

Check tire wear.

If you have anymore specific questions just PM me. I can pull up chrysler, jeep, and dodge Technical Service Bulletins.

• Like 1

The gauge doesn't mean anything, it's a glorified idiot light. Without putting a mechanical gauge on it, just ignore the one on the dash. It's going to read "high" any time the oil pressure is above the switch setting of 8psi or so.

Edit: it's also never a bad thing to have high oil pressure, save for potentially blowing up oil filters. But you need 150+ psi for that to happen...

• Like 1

You ever seen a Dakota like this? I took this at Blue Diamond the weekend before last. Didn't get to talk to the owner; I didn't notice it until my way out, and nobody was near it. Pic is a little screwed up, but it was from my phone.

1236456377844.jpg