Sign in to follow this  

Beginning Suspension WR250R

Hey guys, the WR250r is my first bike and vehicle i have ever purchased(i just turned 18 a while back). Im learning mechanics as i go and trying to do everything i can on my own. I really dont know anything about setting up suspension and was wondering if anybody could show me a step-by-step how to on proper tuning (pictures would be helpful). Ive done a bit of reading on how rebound and damping work but thats about it. Im not even entirely sure where the adjustments are made. I weigh 140lbs and am 5'11. Could somebody help me out?

Thanks.:)

Sent you a PM that might help.

You can also learn a great deal from reading the tech articles section here at TT.

Hi, I'm a newbie rider/owner in the same spot.

I bought my WR250R used, and I don't yet have an owners manual.

I've tried some suspension mods, but I'm not sure what's up.

I have a Yamalink installed now, which lowered the rear.

I have dropped the front forks by about 3/4" in the clamps.

I'm trying to set "sag", but I can't get near 95mm

It seems my standing weight on the pegs produces about 71mm sag.

I adjusted the upper shock ring UP after reading tech forums, but still get same measurement. Am I doing something wrong, or am I too light?

I'm 5'7" at about 140lbs.

Any thoughts are helpful...

sdlitespec I'm roughly the same size. I haven't found exactly what settings I like yet, but I definitely noticed a big improvement when I removed the preload from the rear shock.

That adjustment is shown here in this photo. You would need to move both the lock ring and adjustment ring way up. I have maybe 1/2 or 3/4 inch of thread showing above the top ring now.

100_0109.jpg