Sign in to follow this  

first 2 stroke...Help!

Purchased my first 2 stroke ive been riding for about 5 years now and always been on some sort of 4 stroke.

I decided it was time i give a 2 stroke a shot and see what its all about.

I purchased a 2006 yz250 with a days ride on it. it was to much for the kid.

What do i needa know about 2 strokes? Best oils. best plugs? any tips tricks on making them run better?

What is the stock suspensin sprung for weight wise?

any info yall might have. il be doing lots of searching as well

Thanks again

You'll answer a majority of those questions yourself with continued search on this forum and some serious R&D in the saddle. Get to know her as she is now and figure out what YOU want the bike to be. The YZ 250 can be made to suit just about any riding style if you want to put forth the time, money and effort. Good luck on your quest, you're gonna have a blast! Welcome to the 2-stroke.

Purchased my first 2 stroke ive been riding for about 5 years now and always been on some sort of 4 stroke.

I decided it was time i give a 2 stroke a shot and see what its all about.

I purchased a 2006 yz250 with a days ride on it. it was to much for the kid.

What do i needa know about 2 strokes?

It is cheaper to repair than a 4, power is more fun, they vibrate a bit

Best oils.

Best oil is subjective. In the nineties I really liked PJ1, I am currently running Amsoil because I got a great deal on a couple gallon jugs.

best plugs?

NGK, cheap, reliable, always available.

any tips tricks on making them run better?

Two strokes are EXTREMELY responsive to proper jetting. You will get the hang of it, but it may be frustrating at first. Learn the bike well, because when you do it will almost talk to you and tell you what it needs.