Sign in to follow this  

Boot Recomendation?

What kind of boots do ya'll recommend? I am a beginner (but gettin' better and lovin' it all the time!!) and haven't done much challenging stuff yet. I've looked at boots locally but figure I'll have to order them online. I'm thinking I want the boots that look more like a tennis shoe on the bottom, as they look flexible. But, being that I have no idea what I'm even looking for, I'd love to hear ya'lls suggestions. THANKS!

Flexibility is not what you want in an MX boot. There are many good choices, but I will recommend one NOT to buy, and it is because they are too flexible IMHO, easily allowing injury. I learned this first hand unfortunately. I would recommend against O'Neal Elements.

Buy the best you can afford; even the high-end O'Neals will work, just avoid the Elements. Their price will make them attractive.

BTW - the design of the soles are for different types of riding. The less aggressive tread is for MX, where you don't want the boot to catch or drag on the dirt. The more aggressive treads (like a hiking boot) are usually intended for ATV or dual-sport use.

I prefer the MX tread, even when I ride dual sport.

Yeah I have the tech 3's and they are awesome. They have already saved my ankle once.

Good luck:thumbsup:

I really like my Gaerne SG-10. A bit pricey but I always look for a boot with an articulating ankle. These have saved my ankles a few times :) I think looking for a boot depends on the riding you will be doing too. Boots are one thing I don't worry about price on. I'd rather have a really good boot than risk an injury.