Sign in to follow this  

KXF 06/08 Cylinder Head

Hi i am new to Thumper talk and need some advice. I have kxf 250 2006 model that has had what seems to be the usual problem of the exhaust cam picking up and scoring the journal beyond reasonable repair. I have found what looks to be a good head from a kxf 2008 including valves ect. Could anyone tell me if this would fit or not as nobody i have asked seems to know?

Cheers, Alex

• Like 1

Well I just cross referenced that part numbers for a 06 head to an 08 and the part numbers are the same, so I would safely say, go ahead and get the head for the '08, It should bolt right up just fine! :)

I really appreciate that lads. Its amazing how i've been asking people for weeks and within an hour on hear i have got a definitave answer. Cheers.

were always here for answers man and if one of us doesnt know then someone else does :)

Are you sure its not repairable? I had my journal damaged kind of bad and a company called engine dynamics repaired it for $120-$140.

Here is a picture:

P1050231.jpg

Oh I just saw you were in England. This company is in California so after shipping it might not be worth it. Check it out.

ok now im wondering.. i have an 06 kxf250. What causes this to happen? my bike has 100 hrs. on it looks brand new inside.

I would definitely make sure you get everything checked out before you even put a new head on. I have burnt up two cam journals because I didn't split the cases. Turns out the two oil screens in the crankcase were clogged causing an oil flow problem. If I were you I would take it to someone to have them inspect. I'm not sure what else could cause it than a bad oil pump or what I just said, but I'm still learning. Maybe DK or Primal can chime in on that.