Sign in to follow this  

Wiseco rig gap

Hello, this is my first post on here. I had my cyl done by us chrome. It

was bored to standard size and plated. I had it done to match a wiseco

piston that I got from them. The bike is a 03 KX 125. I put the ring in

last night to check ring gap, and it was only .010, very small. I do understand that I will need to file but if i am reading right on the instructions

its .004 for every mm size and my piston is a 54 mm and if i did the math right

that would be .216, seems like a lot to me. My question is #1 did i do the math right and thats what i need and #2 do i take that all off one side of the ring. This is my first time to do this and I DO NOT WANT TO MESS UP! plus i have a 13 yr old that is chomping of the bits to ride.

Thanks alot

Brian

Tyler, TX

I have never had an issue with ring gaps on wiseco's before. Just make sure the gap is located on the little pin inside the ring gap.:)

UPDATE: Yea i guess i am a bumb a**. I called wiseco to ask the same question and my math was wrong. it's not 54 * .004, it's 2.216 * .004.

So i am at .010, it it's supossed to be .090 to .010. so i am on the money.

And i was going to file it last night. glad i waited. mabey this will be good info

for somebody else.

Thanks

Brian

• Like 1

I have never had an issue with ring gaps on wiseco's before. Just make sure the gap is located on the little pin inside the ring gap.:)

always check the gap

always check the gap

If the piston and ring will not slide into the jug upon install then something is wrong. But I haven't had an issue yet. The only motor's I check ring gap on is my shovelhead and car engines that I build.

If the piston and ring will not slide into the jug upon install then something is wrong. But I haven't had an issue yet. The only motor's I check ring gap on is my shovelhead and car engines that I build.