Sign in to follow this  

2 stroke to the 4 stroke

Hey all, I am just looking for your oppinion. I have a 07 YZ250 I have always ridden 2 stroke and love it. I am now thinking I want a 250F but I am concerned I won't be happy with the power. I am in the process of selling my bike now, so I thought maybe someone here already made the switch from a 250 2 stroke to he 250 4 stroke. How was the transition? are you dissapointed with the power, and do you feel faster on the 250F? I appreciate any input, hopefully I can make up my mind prior to selling my bike. LOL

i ride a 250f and im a beginner but my friend ride a 07 yz250 he has a hard timestaying with me on the track... the power delivery is very smooth and hard i love the low end grunt its my favorite the only thing i like about 2 strokes is that smell lining up on the gate at 8 am :) so i know you will like a 250f

but what kind of rider are you an A B or a C D if your a A B get a 450f it will be more suitable bunch of the local pros around here have the 450f's C or D you will like the 250f much easier to handle...

Whats your height and weight>

if you are over 220 i would highly reccomend a 450F/but you make that decision

i am 6'0 160 and the 250f has plenty of what i will ever need:smirk: ..

I rode Vet C last year I should be Vet B but I am gonna sand bag again cause i only do a couple of races a year. I really don't like the 450, just doesn't feel right to me. I rode a YZF and a CRF250 for 1 lap each so I couldn't tell if I like it or not. I'm gonna try and put a couple laps in on a YZF250 tomorrow. I only weigh 170lbs 5'10 so I think I'll be ok on the 250F.

I've ridden both and can say riding a thumper just allows me to relax and focus more on my line selection and how I attack the track rather than managing the power of a two stroke. I grew up on a yz85, rode a 125 for a while, and just recently got my thumper.