Sign in to follow this  

Looking to buy a kx250f, cant decided between 04/5 model or 06

I am in Australia, i have a tight budget and have found a few Kx250f's in the 2004 model and 05, but also found a stock 06 model for aruond the same price .. now, the travelling distances between each one is a fair bit! we have big states in OZ! , so just wanting to know, are there much differences between the 3 models.. 2004, 2005, 2006, these 3 models are all that fall into my budget!

any help would be greatly appreciated and also anything to be wary of when looking at them, i am a motocross Noob :thumbsup:

cheers guys

If you are a newbie and on a budget, I would suggest to get a 2-stroke 125 instead.

They are cheaper to buy, cheaper to repair and have lighter weight.

You could easily get an -07 125 for the price of an -06 KXF.

That said, if you really want a 4-stroke, get as new a year as possible.

The -06 KXF is completely updated and alot better than the two older models.

Bring a friend (that rides) to look at a used bike, he can help you with what to look for.

From everything i have heard, the 04/05 model is not the kind of bike you would want to buy used, it had a lot of issues since it was an all new bike that year, kawi then rebuilt it again from the ground up in 06 and made a much better and more reliable bike then, i would say your only choice is the 06, or like said above, look for a nice 125.

well im not a total noob to bikes! i just dont know much about their inner workings! and how to fix them!! i have money to maintain and stuff, its just the initial outlay ... i dont want a 2stroke, and im thinking a 125 may be abit underpowered, all my mates have 250's, and im more into the trail rides..rather than motorcross riding... ive actually had a 2008 klx250s , and took it out riding in the dirt and hated it to bits, heavy and crap handling ... so i just want a dedicated dirt bike now!