Backing out broken bolts?

Busted my valve cover flange bolts inside the cam cap. Yes, I was using a torque wrench and yes, I still managed to do it on both sides. :lol::p

Honda only sells the cam caps at part of the cylinder assembly, so I hope to be able to back the broken bolts out of the caps.

Any suggestions on how to accomplish this, or where I might best find someone to do it?

find somone with some real experiance, even if you gotta pay for. like a very patient old man. i work as a tech at a harley/ buell shop and i have broken my fair share of stuff...more than i wanna remember. it depends how the break is to detemine the proper approach. send one to my message or this thread. i hope to see it again. i am new to this forum.

you can buy extactors for this purpose, you need to be able to drill a hole into the broken bolt....the extractor will come with instructions on what size.....i just had to remove a broken clutch spring bolt....had a horrible time trying to get the hole drilled with multiple titanium drill bits...changed to carbide and it drilled easy....use a center punch to make sure you get started iin the center so that you don't end up drilling into the threads of the wall around the bolt....use oil to keep the bit from overheating.

once the hole is drilled the extractor goes into the drill..use the counter clockwise setting on the drill to reverse the bolt out

bye the way, I love the "very patient old man" suggestion.

Here's the left side:

Left.jpg

and the right side:

Right.jpg

and the bolts:

Bolts.jpg

Thanks for the help!

Seems like this is a recurring theme, I am beginning to wonder if it may be a good idea to just replace those bolts occasionally.

But yes, the caps are a matched set to the head....so you only get one shot. An easy -out set can be had at Sears.Carefully drill center of the shank, deep enough for the remover to get a good bite. Tap the remover into the hole with a ball peen hammer and use a small cresent to turn it.