Complete newb, w/ a klx300r

Hello all, I just bought my first bike a 00 klx300. I’m pretty excited so far, especially after not buying a crf230. I rode one right after I bought my bike and it felt like it had no power. I really haven’t had much time to ride just through the neighbor hood and around the yard.

Is there anything specific I need to know about the bike. I bought the bike from a 62yr old man who had purchased it new. He said he put a larger breather tube on it, a better starter gear. He also said he had something done to the shifter, something about it going into neutral a lot before he fixed it.

I really want to get a black and green seat cover, and some graphics(it doesn’t have any).

Any advice with this bike will be much appreciated.

Thanks

search around on here, sounds like he did a couple of the good preventative mods, post a pic if you can, and

WELCOME !!!

http://planetklx.org/

Read and enjoy. :p

Do everything in the free mods for sure, more than likely its been done for you though. :lol:

heres some pics of my bike with my sons 07 ttr50, both bikes need a good cleaning.

dirtbikes001.jpg

dirtbikes002.jpgdirtbikes003.jpg

You need to throw on a bunch of stickers to make it really yours!

I owned a 2003 crf230 and now I have 2006 klx300. The klx300 is a better bike, in terms of suspension and power. Probably about 6-7 hp and 2 inches of travel, you loose the e-start but not a big deal.

I owned a 2003 crf230 and now I have 2006 klx300. The klx300 is a better bike, in terms of suspension and power. Probably about 6-7 hp and 2 inches of travel, you loose the e-start but not a big deal.

It feels alot faster to me than a crf230. I rode my wifes uncles with a jet kit, intake and exhaust and still didnt seem to come close. The sticker on the back of his crf230 said 19hp, I dont how much the klx300 has though.