Sign in to follow this  

Took my Forks apart...please help

I was taking my forks apart to replace the part the rebound screw goes into, since it just turns and turns and turns. This is my first time ever taking a fork apart, but I am failry mechanically inclined. It is a 2003 CRF450

When I unscrewed the top cap, I could pull the entire damper spring and all out on the one with the mest up rebound screw part. All I had to do was unscrew the top cap.

On the broken part, I dont know how to get the 17mm "other part" off of the damper rod. It seems seized and like someone has already tried since the gold plate is somewhat scratched up. How should I get this off and do I need this stuck part AND the bottom rebound bolt to fix this problem.

Again I am not to sure of forks and how all they operate.

Heres some pictures, the broken forks oil was nasty.

truck068.jpg

This is the stuck part on the end of the rod

truck069.jpg

Broken part (does the adjustment screw go into the "stuck part" looks almost like its broke off in there.....

truck070.jpg

Thanks for any and all help would like to be riding this weekend!

:excuseme:

Ok the part is actually broken off inside the push rod which is pressed in a little from the edge so I gotta figure out how to get all this out.

I called the dealership and for that little rebound bolt it is $280!!!!!!!!!!!!! That has got to be a loud of BS right?!?!

truck071-1.jpg <<<<$280

You have some seriously messed up forks! Whoever was in there last didn't know how to take them apart (evidenced by the scratched cartridge rod), not put them back together (since it's obvious the cartridge rod separated from the base bolt.

The dealership is only going to sell you a complete cartridge assembly. The individual parts are available through most suspension tuning shops - like MX-Tech.