Questions on initial bike prep.

I have noticed that most all of you recommend greasing various parts of a new bike as you think that the factory tends to skimp on these same areas. My questions are...

1) What exactly do you recommend to be done? (Grease headset, rear axle, swing arm...etc..) And what is involved, taking the back wheel off, removing the axle? What else do you have to remove, take apart, etc.. and are any special tools needed for this?

2) Would you recommend that a true mechanical novice attempt to complete the task? I mean, taking apart a brand new bike absolutely scares the crap out of me. The headset, axle, swingarm, wow!! With my luck, I would break something.

3) Does this really need to be done for all types of riding? Meaning, what if the bike is only going to be putted around by 33 year old novice?

Please keep in mind that I am an novice mechanic and a squid rider when responding.

Thanks