Sign in to follow this  

OEM or aftermarket fork seals

Fighting with a leaking fork seal on a 2004 250x. I am experienced working with suspension and just replaced fork seals with a set of seals/wipers from MSR. First ride out and one is leaking just a little. I used a MP bullet to install the seals. This is my first try with using the bullet and didn't really like it. It was just enough bigger than the slider that I had to really force the seal down. I think it probably deformed the seal just a little. Guess I will go back to using electrical tape, never had any problems with that. Now for my actual question. Since it looks like I have to take it apart again, are there any preferences on the fork seals for OEM vs aftermarket?

Fighting with a leaking fork seal on a 2004 250x. I am experienced working with suspension and just replaced fork seals with a set of seals/wipers from MSR. First ride out and one is leaking just a little. I used a MP bullet to install the seals. This is my first try with using the bullet and didn't really like it. It was just enough bigger than the slider that I had to really force the seal down. I think it probably deformed the seal just a little. Guess I will go back to using electrical tape, never had any problems with that. Now for my actual question. Since it looks like I have to take it apart again, are there any preferences on the fork seals for OEM vs aftermarket?

I think they are comparable.

Use OEM. I have always used oem fork seals with no problems. One guy tried to save some money and bought the MSR's and they leaked the first ride....I shouldn't say leaked...they poured the first ride.