Sign in to follow this  

Tire Changing

I have been changing my own tires for about two years and have came to the conclusion that I am horrible at it. I always get it done but my kids have to stay out of the garage so they won't learn any new four letter words. When I finish with a tire change, I am sweaty, pissed and my knuckles are usually bleeding. I ride a 02 MXC520 and it eats tires. Any advice on this procedure or recomendations for a tire changing station for home would be greatly appreciated. I have heard that a company makes one that slips in to the hitch on your vehicle, does anyone know who makes it? :)

Brother I feel your pain.... I changed a set last night. I've gotten better but I don't look forward to it. If you do a search, this has been talked about a bunch...

Here's one :

http://www.thumpertalk.com/bike/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=UBB6&Number=101214&Forum=UBB6&Words=tire%20tips&Match=Entire%20Phrase&Searchpage=0&Limit=25&Old=allposts&Main=101214&Search=true#Post101214

A couple of things that make a big difference.

Break the bead thoroughly, both sides, and all the way round.

Use a lubricant so the tire slides over the rim. (I use hand cleaner).

Don't expect to be able to do the change just on the floor. It doesn't let the tread roll round enough. Either use a proper holder, or in my case a 13" car tire.

The KTM rim clamps are a pain because you can't push the bead over them. Some others you can leave the rim clamp on the rim for the whole of the tire change. Makes life a great deal easier.

Finally, if you're sweating a lot, then experiment with different techniques. It really shouldn't be that hard. I know it's difficult not to shout, sweat and bleed, but sitting back and thinking about what might be going wrong is often more effective. Also worth trying different levers. I bought some that are short enough to fit in my tool bag, but are 10 times easier to use than my old 18" levers.

HTH

Liam