Sign in to follow this  

Should I go to a bigger bike?

I just started riding last fall. Edit: that is when I started to feel comfortable. I got my first bike in the spring while the snow was still melting. Anyhoo.. I started on a TTR125. It was a great learner bike for me but way to small. We sold that and got me a TTR230. I have loved the bike. I did have to put a riser on it for standing. Still I feel to big for the bike. This weekend on my first ride my hub had me jump on his WR250 and I loved it. I like the extra power, height, and suspension compared to my 230. Should I step it up and go bigger? I wouldn't say I'm very advanced as a rider yet. I think I have done extremely well for the amount of time I have had riding. I keep up with the boys and the hub has had comments about how did you get her in here??? Do you ladies think this step up is to soon for me or should I just go for it and see if it's the bike for me?

Here are some pics from our first ride this last weekend.

6-27-09uintaride003.jpg

6-27-09uintaride004.jpg

6-27-09uintaride002.jpg

6-27-09uintaride014.jpg

6-27-09uintaride017.jpg

6-27-09uintaride019.jpg

6-27-09uintaride005.jpg

If you feel comfortable on a bigger bike then I'd get it. You out grow bikes fast when you're first learning how to ride. Just make sure you respect the power the bike has. I have two scares on my knees from my 450 (didn't think the front wheel would come up the fast :worthy: ).

Awesom pics!!! Beautiful backcountry! In the one pic it looks like a drop into a switchbacky trail - did you go down/come up that?