Sign in to follow this  

Just ordered a recluse any tips 09 kxf450

I have always thought I was a good clutcher but I am hoping this recluse will make me a faster woods rider and works ok for motocross as well. I am a mid pack vet expert moto and cross country racer. Any set up or riding technique advice.

I am similar skill level to you. I'll tell you, it takes a little while to train yourself to NOT grab the clutch all the time and trust that when you hit the throttle the motor will respond.

Make sure the installed gap checks out with the supplied gauge. CRITICAL! I blew it off and wasted a year of riding thinking the clutch didnt work, I just had it in wrong. The instructions are very clear, just follow them. Its not hard to put in if you read the instructions (like I did the second time)

If you race moto, I recommend you use the high rpm setup. I have all 30 balls in the clutch, and have the two stiffest springs provided in there and it still begins to hook up just off idle.

Oh yeah..the idle. If you adjust the idle up, it won't freewheel as much. If you run a low idle, it will "coast" into turns and down hills. When I race moto it was too distracting, so I just turned the idle up until it stopped. it didn't take much.

It may take some time trying the various settings to find the one you like. Once I got it dialed, it is the best mod ever, except maybe good suspension. Really great on the 09 EFI motor. Good luck!

KS ,with the gap check, when it was wrong, what was the result? Too much slip? Irregular grab? I've done maybe 60 hrs on mine and 118 hrs on the fiber plates in total, and it still feels like new, but I'm curious what I will feel once the plates are worn.