Sign in to follow this  

xr400 carb problem

This is my first time to ask a question. I hope it is right.

I have a 2000 xr400 that is difficult to start. Isn't the engine supposed to fast idle with the choke on. All my old xrs would fast idle. This one just barely idles. Any touch of the throttle will kill it. The dealer told me there was a idle enrichment valve, but I can't find it. The carb has a 132 main jet and a 52 pilot. My riding altitude is usually 7000 to 11000 ft.

Thanks for any advice!

First off, your jetting seems off to me for those elevations. Your pilot is that of a bike with intake and exhaust mods but the main is that you might find with a bike in stock configuration.

You need to tell us what intake and exhaust mods are done. Such as the snorkle being pulled, stock or other air filter; stock, modified stock or other exhaust?

The carb has an idle speed knob. It's that black knob. You may be running your idle too low for the bike to start. Helps to give it a 1/2 a turn or so clockwise before starting.

Make sure you have the position of the choke right in your head. All the way down is choke off. All the way up on the lever is choke full on.

There's not an idle enrichment valve/circuit on the stock carb. It's just simple choke flap.

Just about every XR I have owned needed the idle speed adjuster set up a turn or so for cold starting. When the engine warms up, turn it back down.

has your bike been jetted for the altitude? I agree that the pilot jet is pretty big for a stock bike and I bet you can almost start it with no choke because it is so large.