Sign in to follow this  

Starting kids in racing???

I have a 7 year old who wants to race very bad. He doesn't really want to race on a track, he likes riding in the woods. He has a ttr90 and can pick it up and start it by himself. I think he is ready to start but I don't know if I am ready. :banana:

I think he would enjoy the harescramble type races through the woods but how do you teach them to follow the signs and not get lost and every other little thing that goes into racing? I have a fear that he will be 10 miles away from everyone and lost in the woods somewhere because he missed an arrow. Maybe I am thinking to much or not giving him enough credit, but...

I just started riding myself and have only watched a few races so maybe I don't understand what all is involved.

thanks

:busted::thumbsup::banana:

CHECK OUT THE gncc SITE AND RACES. i THINK THE KIDS LAYOUTS ARE MUCH SHORTER AND SIMPLER THAN THE ADULTS.

I don't think you'll have anything to worry about. They will be in a group playing follow the leader. I am pretty sure the course is taped so they don't stray off of it.

I think its great you are looking into him racing. Great dad !

The XC races my son has participated in were short and taped so they couldn't go the wrong way. And they also let the parent ride behind their kid if they wanted to.

The XC races my son has participated in were short and taped so they couldn't go the wrong way. And they also let the parent ride behind their kid if they wanted to.

that is great to hear. Only my kid would probably be faster and fall less than I do. The other kids on the track would be helping me up out of the ditch. :busted:

I will have to take him to the next race and see the layout of the kids track. The other races we went to we missed the kids races and only saw the adult quads and bikes.